Tata Africa awards Women in Science scholarships

August 20, 2017

The 2017 Women In Science Awards (WISA) event took place on August 17, 2017, at the Hilton Hotel in Sandton, Johannesburg.

A partnership between Tata Africa Holdings and the Department of Science and Technology (DST), the event was held as part of the Department’s celebration of Women’s Month.

Among the dignitaries in attendance were Mr Len Brand, Head, Distribution and Executive Director Tata Africa Holdings; the Minister of Science and Technology, Ms Naledi Pandor; Minister of Higher Education, Mr Blade Nzimande; First Lady, Dr Bongi Ngema; and Director General of the Department of Science and Technology, Mr Phil Mjwara.

Awards were given in the following categories:

  • Awards for Distinguished Woman Researchers
  • Awards for Distinguished Young Woman Researchers
  • Awards for Research and Innovation
  • DST Fellowships
  • Tata Africa Scholarships for Women in Science, Engineering and Technology

In the Tata Africa category, awards were given to three Master’s students – Ms Yonelwa Aziwe Mgwebu, Ms Nomabhongo Masana and Ms Emily Muller. In addition, three doctoral awards were given to Ms Marilize Everts, Ms Loretta Magagula and Ms Funeka Nkosi. All the awardees are studying disciplines where the participation of women is low.

Mr Brand and Mr Mjwara handed out the awards to the Tata Africa beneficiaries.

The theme for the 2017 WISA was women’s economic empowerment in the changing world of work, which is the 2017 priority theme for the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW).

Back to News